President’s Message

Letter from the President of the New York Academy of Public Education:

The Board and I would like to take this opportunity to say Happy and Healthy New Year to all our members and their loved ones. The Academy dinners serve to provide members the opportunity to share their thoughts with some of the outstanding leaders in their field. Some recent keynote speakers included: Carmen Farina, Chancellor of the NYCDOE, Dr. Conrado Gempesaw, President, St. John’s University, Ernest Logan, President, CSA, Ramon F. Garcia, Assistant Commissioner, School Safety, N.Y.P.D., and Charles C. Cahn, Jr, CEO and Founder of the Cahn Fellows.

This year our dialogue among school and community leaders continues to be enriched by the presentations of guest speakers at our dinners. For our Winter dinner, the keynote speaker is Dr. Kimberly R. Cline. Dr. Cline became the 10th President of Long Island University (LIU) in July 2013, assuming the leadership of one of the nation’s largest and most comprehensive private universities. Long Island University is nearly a century old institution that encompasses multiple campuses, educates more than 20,000 students and offers over 500 undergraduate, graduate, and doctoral degree programs and certificates. This year’s Medalist will be Chancellor of the Board of Regents, Dr. Betty A. Rosa. Dr. Rosa was elected to a five-year term, (April 1, 2008-March 31, 2013) and re-elected, (April 1, 2013-March 31,2018) as the Regent for the Twelfth Judicial District (Bronx County), and in March 2016 was elected by her Board of Regents colleagues as Chancellor for the term April 1, 2016-March, 2019.

The New York Academy Medalist Award is the highest award bestowed by the academy on an individual who has demonstrated beneficial impact and commitment to improving our public education system. The award was established in 1935 by THE NYAPE and continued by its Board of Directors.

The Academy offers opportunities to discuss relevant education topics by facilitating the publication of manuscripts in our Professional Journal. The Academy will be announcing a call for manuscripts for its Professional Journal. The NYAPE encourages all members and colleagues to submit a manuscript for the Professional Journal. We thank Dr. John Jangl and the peer editors, for taking on the editing of the annual issue of the NYAPE Professional Journal. Members who are interested in peer editing should contact Dr. Jangl at Please visit our website at to read our past Professional Journals, as well as additional information and updates.

Please take a minute to keep us informed of your professional highlights that should be shared with our community. Please email spotlights to John Mancini at

I look forward to greeting everyone at the Medalist Dinner on May 17, 2018 at the Princeton Club.

Marisa Bolognino
President New York Academy of Public Education

Keep in Touch

If you'd like to stay notified of our latest news and events, enter your name and email.